Plants

Responsibility area

The Plants section covers crop production (including energy crops), plant protection and soil science. Research focuses on systems to control and document standards for food safety, food quality and cultivation techniques throughout the production chain. Improved cropping systems are also needed to satisfy the need for higher productivity and product quality with an associated low environmental impact.

In plant protection, the area of responsibility comprises conventional, integrated and organic cropping systems. This includes the biology of pests and diseases and the use of host resistance, biological, chemical and mechanical control and integrated pest management (IPM). Abiotic stress factors causing yield reductions, such as winter damage, are also important.

In horticulture, the research areas include both outdoor production and production in controlled environments (e.g. glasshouse crops). Special emphasis is given to the quality of products and aspects of cultivation typical of Nordic countries.

In soil science, the focus is on well-functioning soil ecology to ensure the transformation of nutrients, mediate the transport of water and gases and provide long-lasting healthy and fertile soil.

Chair

Kirsty McKinnon
Norwegian Centre for Organic Agriculture (NORSØK)
N-6630 Tingvoll, Norway
Phone: (+47) 404 80 522
Switchboard: (+47) 452 30 200
www.norsok.no
E-mail: kirsty.mcKinnon@norsok.no

Vice chair

 

Secretary

Anita Gunnarsson
Rural Economy and Agriculture Society, Scania
Box 9084, 29109 Kristianstad, Sweden
Skype: anita.gunnarssonHS
Phone:+46 10 467 2090
E-mail: anita.gunnarsson@hushallningssallskapet.se

Members of Section Board

Biruta Bankina
Institute of Soil and Plant Science, Latvia University of Agriculture,
Liela Street 2, Jelgava, Latvia, LV 3001
Phone: +37163021985
Skype: biruta bankina 1
E-mail: biruta.Bankina@llu.lv

Sigitas Lazauskas
Institute of Agriculture, Lithuanian Research Centre for Agriculture and Forestry, Plant Nutrition and Agroecology Department,
Instituto al.1, Akademija, LT-58344 Kédainiai distr., Lithuania
Skype: sigitas738
Phone: +370 698 80905, Mobile: +37069880905
Fax: +370 347 37096
E-mail: sigislaz@lzi.lt

Matti Koppel
Estonian Crop Research Institute
J.Aamisepa 1, Jõgeva alevik 48309, Estonia
Skype: mattikoppel
Phone: +372 7766 903, Mobile: +3727766903
Fax: +372 7766 902
E-mail: mati.koppel@jpbi.ee

Marjo Keskitalo
Natural Resources Institute Finland (Luke)
31600 Jokioinen, Tietotie, Finland
Skype: Marjo.keskitalo_3
Mobile: +358295326237
marjo.keskitalo@luke.fi

Anna Margrét Jónsdóttir
The Icelandic Agricultural Advisory Centre
Húnabraut 13, 540 Blönduós, Iceland
Skype: annamagga2809
Phone:  +354 5165007, Mobile:  +354 8486774
amj@bondi.is

Lise Christina Deleuran
Aarhus University, Department of Agroecology - Crop Health
Forsøgsvej 1, DK-4200 Slagelse, Denmark
lise.deleuran@agro.au.dk
Skype: lise.deleuran1
Phone: +45 87158278, Mobile: +45 28719054

Working groups

Organic farming systems

Chair: Pirjo Siiskonen, Director – Professor, University of Helsinki, Organic Research Institute, Lönnrotinkatu 7, FI-50100 Mikkeli; Phone: +358 2941911 GSM: +358 440 752; E-mail: 755pirjo.siiskonen@helsinki.fi

Maria Wivstad, Sweden, maria.wivstad@slu.se

Kirsi Partanen, Finland, kirsi.partanen@snellman.fi

Sirli Pehme, Estonia, sirli.pehme@emu.ee

Anne-Kristin  Løes, Norwegian Centre for Organic Agriculture, Norway, Phone: +47 404 79 962,  anne-kristin.loes@norsok.no

 

Herbage seed production

Chair: Lars T. Havstad, Thegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO), div. Landvik, Reddalsveien 215,  4886 Grimstad, Norway, one:+4790676435, e-mail: lars.havstad@nibio.no

Birte Boelt, Aarhus University,  Department of Acroecology – Crop Health, Forsøgsvej 1, 4200 Slagelse, Denmark, Phone: +45 22283328, e-mail: birte.boelt@agro.au.dk

Gunilla Larsson, Svensk Raps Ab, Box 96, SE-S-23053 Alnarp, Sweden, Phone: +46 (0)40462082, e-mail: gunilla.larsson@svenskraps.se

Rene Aavola, Jõgeva Plant Breeding Institute, J. Aamisepa 1, EE-48309 Jõgeva, Estonia, Phone: +3727766917, e-mail: rene@jpbi.ee

Markku Niskanen, Natural Resources Institute (LUKE), Ylistaro, Finland, Phone: +358 443326802, e-mail: markku.niskanen@luke.fi

Agricultural applications of NIRS and NIT

Chair: René Gislum
Department of Genetics and Biotechnology, Research Centre Flakkebjerg,
DK4200 Slagelse, Denmark
Phone: +45 89993676
E-mail: rene.gislum@agrsci.dk

Fusarium and mycotoxins in cereals

Chair: Ingerd Skow Hofgaard
Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research –NIBIO, www.nibio.no, Postbox 115, 1431 Ås, Norway,hone:+4792057684,  email: ingerd.hofgaard@NIBIO.no


Thomas Börjesson (AGROVÄST, Sweden),
thomas.borjesson@agrovast.se
Ulf Thrane (Technical University of Denmark DTU, Denmark), ut@biocentrum.dk
Päivi Parikka (LUKE, Finland),
paivi.parikka@luke.fi
Biruta Bankina (Latvia),
biruta.bankina@llu.lv

Weeds in arable land

Chair: Jukka Salonen
Natural Resources Institute
(Luke)

I-31600 Jokioinen.
Phone: + 358 400784464
E-mail: jukka.salonen@mtt.fi

Anneli Lundkvist, SLU, Sweden,
anneli.lundkvist@slu.se

Bo Melander, Aarhus University, Denmark, bo.melander@agro.au.dk
Lars Olav Brandsæter, NIBIO, Norway,
lars.olav.brandsaeter@NIBIO.no

Plant protection in sustainable berry production

Chair: Nina Trandem
Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO), P.O. Box 115, NO-1431 Ås, Norway
Phone:  +47 926 09 308, email: nina.trandem@nibio.no


Birgitta Svensson (SLU, Sweden),
birgitta.svensson@slu.se

Lene Sigsgaard (University of Copenhagen,Denmark), les@plen.ku.dk
Päivi
Parikka (Luke, Finland), paivi.parikka@luke.fi

Nematology working group

Chair: Christer Magnusson
NIBIO Plantehelse, Norway,
+47 952 05 304, email: christer.magnusson@NIBIO.no

 

 


Anne Christine Helms, Plantedirektoratet, Denmark,
Eha Svilponis, Estonian University of life Sciences, Estonia, eha.svilponis@emu.ee
Kari
Tiilikkala, Luke, Finland,+358 29 532 6586, kari.tiilikkala@luke.fi
Maria
Viketoft, SLU, Sweden, maria.viketoft@slu.se

IPM –North working Group

Chair: -Mati Koppel, Estonian Crop Research Institute, J.Aamisepa 1, Jõgeva 48309, Estonia, 776 6903, Phone: +3727766903 or +3725073288. E-mail: mati.koppel@etki.ee
 
Pauliina Laitinen, Tukes, Finland, pauliina.laitinen@tukes.fi

Lise Nistrup Jørgensen, lisen.jorgensen@agro.au.dk

Biruta Bankina, Latvia, 63021985, biruta.bankina@llu.lv

Roma Semaškienē, Lithuania, +370 610 49326, roma@lzi.lt

Ann-Charlotte Wallenhammar,Sweden, ann-charlotte.wallenhammar@slu.se

Guro Brodal, guro.brodal@NIBIO.no

Kari Tiilikkala, National Resources Institute (Luke), 31600 Jokioinen, Finland, Phone: +358 29 532 6586, kari.tiilikkala@luke.fi

Plant nutrition

Chair:Professor Jørgen Eriksen, Department of Agroecology ­ Soil Fertility, Blichers Allé 20, 8830 Tjele, Denmark, Phone: 87157672 (direct) or 51680554 (mobile). E-mail: jorgen.eriksen@agro.au.dk, 
      Finland: Principal research Scientist Kari Ylivainio, kari.ylivainio@luke.fi

Sweden: Holger Kirchmann, holger.kirchmann@slu.se

Iceland: Sigurður Þór Guðmundsson, sthg@rml.is

Norway: Anne­Kristin Løes, NIBIO Organic, anne­-kristin.loes@nibio.no

Latvia: Professor Aldis Karklins:  aldis.karklins@llu.lv

Lithuania: Senior Researcher Sigitas Lazauskas, sigislaz@lzi.lt

Estonia: Merrit Shanskiy, Estonian University of life Sciences, merrit.shanskiy@emu.ee

Local food production

Chair: Lise C. Deleuran
Faculty of Science and Technology,
Aarhus University
Forsøgsvej 1, DK-4200 Slagelse, Denmark
Skype: lise.deleuran1
Phone: +45 8715 8278
E-mail: Lise.Deleuran@agrsci.dk

Rebecka Milestad, SLU, Sweden, rebecka.milestad@slu.se
Helmi
Risku-Norja, Luke, Finland, helmi.risku-norja@luke.fi

Agricultural applications of NIRS and NIT

Chair: René Gislum, Department of Genetics and Biotechnology, Research Centre Flakkebjerg, DK4200 Slagelse, Denmark, Phone: +45 89993676, e-mail: rene.gislum@agrsci.dk, Phone: +45 87158279, Or +45 20542092