Environment

Responsibility area

The Environment section promotes development of sustainable cultivation systems, based on efficient use of plant nutrients and proper soil and water management. The section works on reducing the consumption of limited natural resources and counteracting environmental problems. The focus is on the environmental aspects of nutrients and water in the soil-plant-atmosphere system, the effect of fertilisation methods and animal manure application, tillage methods, drainage and irrigation on the leaching of nutrients and other contaminants, as well as gaseous emissions.

The section also works with measures taken outside the field to minimise losses of nutrients and contaminants to surface waters, groundwater or the atmosphere. Maintaining the biodiversity of the cultivated landscape and promoting advanced landscape planning and architecture are other goals of the section.

Notes from Board Meetings
Notes 2015-12-09

Chair

Helena Aronsson
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Soil and Environment,
P.O. Box 7014, 750 07 Uppsala, Sweden
Phone: +4618 67 24 66
E-mail: helena.aronsson@slu.se

Vice chair

Asko Simojoki
University of Helsinki, Department of Food and Environmental Sciences.
Phone: +35294158747, +358504487473
E-mail: asko.simojoki@helsinki.fi 

Members of Section Board

Járngerður Grétarsdóttir
Agricultural University of Iceland,
Keldnaholti 112, Reykjavík, Iceland
Phone: +354 4335253
Fax: +354 4335001
E-mail: jarngerdur@lbhi.is

Christen Duus-Borgesen
E-mail:christen.borgesen@agro.au.dk

Susanne Eich-Greatorex
E-mail: susanne.eich@nmbu.no

Viesturs Jansons
Latvia University of Agriculture, Faculty of Rural Engineering, Department of Environmental Engineering and Water Management,
Akademijas iela 19, Jelgava, Latvia
Phone: +371 63029851
E-mail: viesturs.jansons@llu.lv

Virginijus Feiza
Institute of Agriculture, Lithuanian Research Centre for Agriculture and Forestry, Instituto al. 1, LT-58344 Akademija, Kėdainiai distr, Lithuania
Phone:+370-347-37275, +370-688-87249
E-mail:
virgis@lzi.lt

Toomas Tamm
Estonian University of Life Sciences, Department of Water Management,
Kreutzwald Str 5, Tartu, Estonia EE51014
Phone: +372 7313130
Mobile: +372 5537901
E-mail: toomas.tamm@emu.ee